The San Mateo County Comitium

Brief History The San Mateo County Comitium consists of parishes within the geographical boundaries of the County of San Mateo (or the Peninsula Area) under the Archdiocese of San Francisco. The boundary starts in Daly City and ends at East Palo Alto. The San Mateo County Comitium was officially affiliated to the San Francisco Senatus in 2013 as part of the organizational changes to more efficiently supervise what was then three (3) Curiae in the same county - North San Mateo Curia, South San Mateo Curia and the Daly City- Colma Curia. The discussions between between the officers of these councils along with the approval of the San Francisco Senatus resulted with the elevation of the North San Mateo Curia into the San Mateo County Comitium with both South San Mateo Curia and the former Daly City Colma Curia directly attached to the newly formed Comitium. The North San Mateo Curia was founded on December 3, 1985 and were comprised by parishes in Daly City, Colma, South San Francisco, San Bruno and most recently, Millbrae. As of September 2021, the Daly City Colma Curia has ceased to function, two of their active praesidia are now directly attached to the San Mateo County Comitium. 

Past and Present Spiritual Directors The Spiritual Directors of North San Mateo Curia were the late Father Antonio Rey, succeeded by Fr. Eduardo Dura and Fr. Joe Richard (retired priest of the Archdiocese of San Francisco. Effective December 2021, Fr. Cameron Pollette, a newly-ordained priest of the Archdiocese of San Francisco is its present spiritual director replacing Fr. Joe Richard its long-time and beloved Spiritual Director.  

Current Officers - the officers of the San Mateo County Comitium are as follows:

  • President -               Sister Lorna Garcia (First Term)
  • Vice President        Sister Julie Tabajonda  (First Term)
  • Secretary -                Sister Ivy Mecano (First Term)
  • Treasurer -               Brother Gil Mateo (Second Term)      

Meeting Place, Day and Time - beginning late 2021, the San Mateo County Comitium, with the easing up of the shelter in place rule, is back to a live in-person meeting after a number of months meeting virtually. Current meeting place is Saint Veronica Parish in South San Francisco, every last Sunday of the month, beginning at 2:00 p.m.

Parishes and Praesidia of the San Mateo County Comitium:

Saint Andrew - Daly City (Mary, Gate of Heaven, Our Lady of Miracles and Our Lady of Light)

Saint Augustine (Our Lady of the Most Holy Rosary, Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception, Mary Mediatrix of All Graces, Our Lady of Divine Mercy, Our Lady, Cause of Our Joy)

Saint Robert (Mater Ecclesiae)

Saint Veronica - South San Francisco -  (Our Lady of Mount Carmel and Mary, Model of Love  - Junior Praesidium), 

Mater Dolorosa - South San Francisco -  (Mater Dolorosa and Mary, Mother of the Holy Eucharist and Family)

Saint Dunstan - Millbrae (Immaculate Heart of Mary)

Good Shepherd Parish - Pacifica (Mary, Queen of Peace)

Our Lady of Perpetual Help (Mary. Model of Youth and Our Lady of Nativity)